My Marketing Adventure

The first time when I heard “Marketing” word was a quite weird and unusual for my ear. That was nearly 8 years ago when I was in high school doing some research trying to find a suitable university program that fits with my dreams and ambitions. I remember well that day when I asked my father about the meaning of marketing. He answered me clearly and concisely with five memorable words that I haven’t forgot. He said, “Marketing is the art of promoting products”. This answer was fairly adequate to comprehend marketing.

Throughout my life, I passed through five stations that enhanced my understanding of marketing. Each one was different than the other whether in terms of the way of learning and practicing marketing, or the quantity and quality of the knowledge and experience I have attained.

The first station was at university when I was taking the Business administration program. During that period, I learned the basics and principals of business and marketing. Since it was a university program, the way of teaching was classic based on lectures and lectures and more lectures; and on books reading sometimes. I can’t deny that my undergraduate phase was really beneficial but I can’t also deny that it was boring.

During my last year at year at university, I started my 3 months field placement at Volkswagen, one of the biggest cars manufacturers in the world. There I practiced marketing for the first time. I was really fortunate that I was placed in such big company when I applied everything I had learned like promotion and distributions strategies, public relations management and analyzing the market and customers behavior. Also, my field placement experience was an opportunity to know what is E-Marketing and what are ERP (Enterprise resource planning) and CRM (Customer relationship management) and deal closely with such high-innovated programs.

After I graduated from university I started working in the publishing and printing field. There, I applied new principles of marketing like design and graphics that appeal to customers’ tastes, customer’s relationship management, targeting new markets, in addition to evaluating products and adjusting them relying on customers feedback.

Recently, I have started a short advertising program in a different country with a new culture and language. It was really hard going back to school after two years in the field. But honestly, studying at college is totally different than at university. Studying marketing at college in a developed country as Canada was like a work experience at school. While studying, we learn and practice at the same time in amazing harmony and interactivity between the students themselves and their professors.

The fifth station is still undergoing until today and it will be over the future because it is the most significant one among the five stations. I’ve been reading books and magazines about business and marketing since university days. Because I believe, reading is the key to extend your knowledge, enhance critical thinking and be aware of the changes and developments in various fields.

Marketing is vital for every kind of organization and so it’s for me. I’ve found marketing to be a pleasant topic to study and the most enjoyable field to work in. I will certainly stick closer to marketing than any other field in my career. I’ve learnt a lot during the five stages I mentioned earlier and obviously I will keep learning more and more throughout my life.

About makpha

My first experience with blogging in English. View all posts by makpha

Leave a Reply

